L2: The first REAL date

If you have never been there, I strongly recommend a visit to the New England Aquarium (NEA) in Boston.  I hear they even have a shark and ray petting exhibit now – pretty cool.

New England Aquarium/ Source

This aquarium will forever hold a special place in my heart.  Not only because its one of the first places I visited (the outside at least) with friends from TN when they first came to visit me after my move to New England – oh, you didn’t know I wasn’t from here…yeah…we’ll get to that eventually.  Or you can check out the “who we are” tab up there on the top of this page ;). 

Anyways, back to the story at hand.  The NEA will also be special to me because it was the location of our first official date, which Dave had so generously asked me out on the last time we were together.  This date was also the first time I became plainly aware that my husband runs on his own time schedule.  He called it DST (Dave Standard Time) that day, and remembering that detail always makes me smile.

I am one of those people who likes to be late on my own accord, but if you’re the one making me be late…watch out!  To be honest, I don’t like being late at all….but I’m much more forgiving of myself for the delay.  This particular day, Dave seemed to have underestimated the time it would actually take him to get from South of Boston to where I was living at the time about 25 minutes north of the city.  At the time that Dave was supposed to pick me up, I got a text saying he was still a few minutes late, but he would be arriving right on time, according to DST.

When he finally arrived, I went down to meet him – no sense in dealing with the awkward boyfriend meets my ex-boyfriend dilemma.  It was a rainy day, so I ran from the building to the car and hopped on in.  We made our way to the aquarium (which I had just happened to snag free tickets to through work) parked the car and got in line.

The aquarium was PACKED with families and couples and people just looking to have some down time with the fish and penguins.  But we made the best of it and slowly made our way to the Sea Lion exhibit.  Once at the Sea Lion’s we hear what sounded like a guy yelling “hey” at us.  We couldn’t figure out what it was, but noticed that the show was about to start, so we scootched on up to the side of the glass to wait for the show to begin.  As we stood there, side by side, with Dave’s arm around me, a sea lion pulled up on the shallow ledge directly in front of us and let out a loud “heyyy!”  

Here's the culprit!!

I remember Dave and I laughing for a solid 5 minutes over this sea lion.  It felt like he was saying hi just to us.  All of a sudden it was literally just me, Dave and the sea lion in the room.  It didn’t matter that there was probably a good 150+ more people there, and we were being pushed closer and closer to the glass.  This was one of the most amazing things I had ever experienced, and I was experiencing it with quite a special guy.

After the aquarium we were famished.  We decided to head over to Faneuil Hall (Quincy Market) to grab a bite to eat.  We ended up settling on Cheers, mostly because it was convenient but also because they had a group there performing live.  It was actually North Shore (recent contestants on the hit acappella show “Sing Off”)!! 

North Shore Acappella Group/ Source

How did we get from sitting at Cheers to walking down the aisle?  Stay tuned!

Anyone out there been the New England Aquarium recently?  Seen the shark and ray tank?  Isn’t it just the coolest to pet those creatures?!  I just love how silky smooth the water makes their skin feel!

Leave a Reply

