Committed to Us: The Big Decisions – The Dress

Once we had a date set, it was time to start searching for the dress!!

Most girls think about what they want to look like on their wedding day for years prior to engagement.  I was no stranger to wedding blogs, David’s Bridal, or Alfred Angelo by the time I had that ring on my finger.  I had been looking at wedding related stuff for years.  It started when my younger sister A started planning her wedding.

A had asked that we help to pick out the bridesmaid dress, so I started what I called the “Bridesmaid Dress Option Book” (original, I know) and printed out every dress I could find in Royal Blue that I thought was remotely cute.  She wasn’t sure if she wanted us all to match, or if she wanted us all in different dresses, but she knew she wanted Royal Blue.

It was hard not to notice all the different colors, and options out there for brides to choose for their maids.  And I’ve never been one to shy away from a pretty dress.  So I started browsing all wedding related sites.  I started thinking about what I would do if it were my wedding.  I’d have this color, I’d have that color.  The girls would be in something like this, and the guys in something like that.  Of course, as any bride will tell you – it’s easy to have all this planned out when you don’t have a groom.

While looking at the bridesmaid dresses, I couldn’t help but notice the bridal gowns.  There were so many beautiful dresses to see.  At the time, my eye was drawn to the ball gown style.  I loved the concept of feeling like a princess.  And when else do you get to put on a Cinderellaish (yup, that’s a valid adjective) gown and parade around town without a care in the world?

Needless to say, once I had that ring on my finger, I couldn’t get my mom to schedule a trip up fast enough.  I wanted her there, along with my step-mom, bridesmaids and the Best Man (yup, the BM was actually a Best Woman) when I found “the one!”  So, one Saturday in February we meandered our way to David’s Bridal to try on dresses.  I was sure I wouldn’t find a dress there, I didn’t want one that so many other brides had had before…but, I figured it was worth a shot.

In the name of full disclosure, I feel it my duty to say, that shopping for my wedding dress was something I had way over romanticized.  (see post about engagement)  I had it in my head, that since I was going with a larger group of girls, and my mom and step-mom, I wanted to step out of the room in the dress and have everyone gasp and coo and shout “THAT’S IT!  THAT’S THE ONE!!”  I blame watching too many episodes of Say Yes to the Dress on TLC…  ALSO, I’m not the most petite person on the block, so I was scared of dresses not fitting me, and making me feel fatter and uglier in return.  Not necessarily the way a girl wants to feel when she’s trying on her wedding dress.

Whew, I feel better now that that is out in the open – onward to the shopping story.  I had shown Evelyn (my bridal gown extraordinaire) the styles in their catalog that I had been eying.  To say that my taste was all over the board is probably an understatement.  I was in such awe to actually be in the position to be looking for dresses as the BRIDE that I wanted to try them all on.  And so began the search for the perfect dress.

Must try – Ball Gown:

Ignore the awkward face....just look at the dress...

Umm..no.  But it was a convertible dress, allowing for the reception dress to be a short little bubble skirt number.  Too bad I didn’t like the bubble skirt on my frame.

Next up – Fit and Flare

again with the awkwardness....but you can see the dress better.

This was a top contender.  I loved the way it accentuated my curves while hiding the gut.

I liked this one too, a lot

Followed by – The Goddess Dress (named so by my mother)

This is the front, I hated the front...too low

But I LOVED the back!

I didn’t have much to say about this dress.  It was ok, but it was just that – ok.  My mom on the other hand…LOVED it.  While I loved the V in the back, the deep V in the front made me nervous.  I was afraid I would pull a Janet Jackson at my own wedding and flash the crowd.  And no matter how many times people mentioned I could get a “modesty piece” I just knew this dress wasn’t it.

Then, after a few more dresses and a couple of failed attempts at squeezing my child-bearing hips into the lace dresses they had, I finally found her.

My dress!

Ahh, I still love it!! / Picture by Kristin Korpos

This shot allows you to really see the bead work on the chest, which was matched on the right side and edges of all three tiers. / Picture by Kristin Korpos

I was smitten.  But, no one else really seemed to be as much.  I got the obligatory “Britt, it’s beautiful on you” and “Oh, so nice” but there was no show stopping moment as I expected.  And you know what, I’m ok with that now.  At the time, it’s all I wanted.  But now, with more than a year behind me from that shopping day, I am 100% ok with how things went down.  I felt beautiful in my dress, and I knew it was the one for me.  And I had no question that Dave would love it too.

So with that, the decision was made, and the dress was purchased.  And just like that, we were done.

So what was your dress search like?  Anyone try and talk you out of your dress?

4 thoughts on “Committed to Us: The Big Decisions – The Dress

  1. That was definitely THE dress. I hadn’t seen your other options prior to now. They were pretty, but yours was perfect on you ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

