Committed to Us: “I just need 2 minutes”

After our beautiful ceremony, Dave and I took a moment to stand and do a receiving line to thank all those who came to share in our day.  If this blog were about giving advice, I’d stop right here and tell you – if you are in the midst of planning a wedding or will someday be planning a wedding – PLAN FOR A RECEIVING LINE!  It was such a good feeling to know that we were able to hug and thank each and every person that was at our special day.  For me, it was a relief knowing that at that point, I had had a moment with all of my friends and loved ones, and could use the rest of the night to enjoy the food, dancing, and general shenanigans of my wedding day.  Again, I highly recommend this.

Anywho, after the receiving line, we entered what I remember to be the. most. stressful. part of the day, formal portraits.  We had given Kristin a list of family members and family type pictures that we wanted to make sure we were able to get.  But, even after mentioning several times to family and bridal party members that this was not the time to wonder off – we had some stragglers who just couldn’t stay put.  I don’t know if this happens to everyone, or if it was just us, but man was I stressed out.  I spent a good part of the time having to tell our attendant from the venue that no, my husband cannot eat that scallop wrapped in bacon right now, we are on a time crunch and NEED to get the photos done. And if he’s chewing, he can’t smile.  All while trying to call for missing family members or bridal party members to get in the shot, and hearing my photographer say that we were running tight on sunlight and needed to get moving.  Suffice it to say, I ended up feeling like the ultimate bridezilla during this time.

At the end of it, I was longing for some one-on-one time with my now husband (eeps) and a moment to breathe.  The anxiety and overwhelmingness (yeah, that’s a brittneyism) of the day had officially set in, and I was suffocating.  I continuously begged Dave for just two minutes alone with him.  Just a moment of quiet.  A moment of just me and him, after all, that’s what the day was celebrating anyways.  But it seemed it was impossible to get.  In the picture below you can see my exasperation, I’m pretty sure this was the moment I was looking at Dave to help me reign in the chaos, and he just couldn’t understand why I was so overwhelmed – ah, the pluses and minuses of having a laid-back counterpart to a type A personality like myself.

Please honey….I just need two minutes. / Photo by Kristin Korpos

SIDE NOTE:  Recently my friend April, who is in the process of planning her own wedding, mentioned that she and her fiancé have discussed eating their dinner alone.  While everyone in their reception is getting their food and sitting down for dinner, she and her then husband would be off in a separate room eating their first meal together as husband and wife.  I wish we had thought to do this.  I think it would have really helped me to have just those few, uninterrupted moments with Dave.  To really let everything sink in and enjoy being with each other as newlyweds.  And because the first time we had seen each other all day was when I walked down that aisle, it would have just been so nice to have a few moments of wind-down time with Dave.  He is after all my rock and that was what I needed right then.  As it was, we didn’t so we had to make do with what little moments alone we could grasp, which to be honest, we far and few between.

In the end, we were able to get some great photos with our family that we will cherish always.  There are just a few pictures I wish I had gotten, that I hadn’t listed.  One of which is a shot with my three besties from college.  We have one from Jackie’s wedding, see below, but we didn’t get one at mine.  I’m hoping we can snag one from Robin’s wedding this summer.

Friends no matter where we are…always. / Personal Photo

We were successful however, in gaining a pic to go onto my mother-in-law’s “wall of wedding” where she has all of the family wedding pictures displayed, from grandparents to current.  I love walking into their house and seeing our formal shot hanging among the other family photos.

Timeless / Photo by Kristin Korpos

Oh, and we also snagged a great photo to use for the thank you cards we’d be sending to guests after the wedding, and seeing as I still have some of these leftover, they will probably be used for birthday, Christmas and other thank you moments until they are gone.

Saying thanks just isn’t enough / Photo by Kristin Korpos

After the formal shots were done, we made our way around the grounds, just me, Dave, Maarit and Kristin for some portraits of just the two of us.  It was during this time that we got to sit down for a brief moment, and relish in the fact that we. were. married.

finally relaxed, so happy / Photo by Kristin Korpos

I took a quick look at my husband’s new jewelry and marveled at how sexy one little ring could be.  I’m telling you – there is NOTHING sexier than seeing that silver band on Dave’s finger.  Knowing what it represents and what it means.  I could stare at that ring, on that finger, all day.

So Sexy / Photo by Kristin Korpos

When our portraits had concluded, and Brad – our amazing DJ – had come to retrieve us for the introductions, we made our way back up to the porch and prepared to be introduced as Mr. and Mrs. Lemieux.

Leave a Reply

