Leap of Faith

This post has been on my mind a lot lately.  And while we’re in the middle of the renovations stories on the house, and telling you all about the move in process, my heart and mind have been in a spot of considering our future.  What will it look like in five years?  What will I be doing?

If you know me, and chances are if you’re reading this blog, you probably do – as I have yet to reach stardom in the blogosphere. ..I digress.  If you know me, chances are you know that I work as a project coordinator at a respectable company based out of a foreign country.  I like the people I work with.  I like the knowledge base of my job…but I’m not cut out for office work.  Sitting at a computer all day, in my cubicle, and having to do paperwork, well, it’s just not my thing.  If I’m being honest, it’s like smelling the shoes of an Olympic runner, right after their big race – not appealing.

About 7 years ago, just before I moved from TN I had started to day dream with two girlfriends a Wedding Planning Business.  We each had our strengths in the industry and thought we might be able to make a successful go at it…  But I had to go and throw a wrench in the plans and move away.  Not that I would take back my move, it has after all led to more developed relationships with my siblings and parents in New England, and of course to my amazing husband and friends.  But nothing has really ever made me forget about the plans for the business that we could have had.  And what it might be like now after 7 years of build up if we had just done it then.

Plus, who wouldn’t want a fanny pack like this??

Because I know all of my lovely readers are genius (I mean, after all, you’re reading this blog, and that alone is a smart decision) you’ve probably figured out where this is going.  I’ve decided to follow my heart and my passion.  God gave me a gift of organization for a reason, and I’m going to start to use it.  I’m going to be a wedding planner.  It might take me a few years to get there.  I’ll have to start out part time for sure – after all, as Dave likes to say, our good looks and charm only get us so far – and we have a mortgage to pay!

So, now I’m off to google “how to write a business plan.”  Anyone out there know how to help me out on this – business major I was not!  Please, please, please…..pretty please?! 

Anyone else out there taking a leap of faith and following their dreams?

9 thoughts on “Leap of Faith

  1. hey there my LOVELY and WONDERFUL girly!!!!! I LOVE THIS IDEA!!!!! And if you ever need help, I’m there for you. I can help with legal documents and crafting and providing product photography 🙂 I have no idea how to write a business plan though. And if I really hate being a lawyer, i might just jump in and join you, because, I mean, you know how much i love weddings :-)!!!!!!!!!!!!!! XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO
    love you!!!!

  2. I may know how to write a business plan and set up a company…. 🙂 I have some software that can help you too if you have a computer running windows xp.

    I like your entrepeneurial spirit!

  3. Any way I can help, just let me know. I believe you will be great at anything you do as long as you don’t hold back on the throttle.

  4. Like I said, Britt, I will help in ANY WAY! And if I can join you, you bet the heck i will. I’ve got to get through this Bar exam, and then i’m taking MA in February. Until at least next May I won’t know if I’ll be licensed in MA, so my job prospects are fairly meager at the moment…so let me know if there is anything I can help you with 🙂

Leave a Reply

