Chosing you from all the world to be mine…

….Cue the first few notes of the hymn “Be Thou My Vision.”

A quick glance at dad, and it’s time to go.  I can no longer hear the music.  I don’t even hear my footsteps on the grass, or the door shut behind us as we begin our trek down that grassy aisle.  I see blurs of faces, and feel the joy and excitement more than I ever could have imagined.  “Breathe” I suddenly hear lowly in my right ear.  “I am breathing” I joyously respond.  I still can’t hear the music.  I believe someone could shoot a cannon just to my left and I wouldn’t know it went off.  For that matter, I could be surrounded by a marching band, and their drum line and I STILL wouldn’t hear anything.  All I can hear are the beats of my heart as the blood rushes through my body and I somehow continue to float down the aisle toward Dave.  I literally don’t remember telling my feet to move, it’s as if they want to be standing where my heart and head long to be even before I realize I’m making my way there.

I can see him.  Through the blur of my joyous tears I can see my love wiping his own as I make my way down the aisle.

And then, I’m there, my dad is giving me a hug and kiss on the cheek.  Now, he’s shaking Dave’s hand, and as he places my hand into Dave’s I realize – we’ve made it.  We are here.  This is happening.  And all I want to do is hug him and kiss him, so I go in for the kiss, and quickly my beloved reminds me that it’s not time yet – that has to wait. 

I know that Sue has started to talk, but I am still having trouble registering what is being said.  We’ve gone over every word of this ceremony 100 times.  Dave and I wrote it ourselves, I should know it like the back of my hand, but I am lost.  Lost in Dave’s eyes, in the excitement and enormity of what it is this day truly means.  Dave must be feeling it too – he’s just said “I do” before she was ready for him.  Whew – at least it’s not just me. 

And now, we’re exchanging our rings – the outward symbol of this internal commitment.  “I chose you from all the world, to be my husband” wow, my husband.  Lord, I never thought I’d be here.  Thank You!

Finally!  I can kiss him!  Oh, he dipped me!  Did I just rip my dress?  No, I didn’t.  Man, I’m glad I didn’t actually rip my dress.  Mr. and Mrs. Dave Lemieux!  EEPS!  That’s us!  And it is done, I can breathe and we can party! 

I cannot believe it’s been a year.  I remember these details like it was yesterday – which is ironic, because if you had asked me the day after the wedding what I remembered, I couldn’t remember a single thing!  Our wedding day was one of the best days of my life.  I have literally never felt more fortunate to have so many friends and family in one place.  I’ve heard it said before, and it is the truth – You can FEEL the love surrounding you that day.  The energy of the day is filled with anticipation and joy.  Love and laughter.  And it is amazing.

But what comes next?  Well, for Dave and me, it was a life filled with change.  There have been changes good and changes bad.  We’ve experienced life to its fullest.  We’ve lost a family member, prayed one through a cancer scare, and watched one experience her own wedding.  We’ve purchased a house, and started to make it our home.  We’ve had to learn how to fully communicate with each other.  How to compromise even more.  How to show love and be loved.

If this year has shown me how Dave and I will fare in our futures, I see nothing but positives.  As everyone will tell you, the first year of marriage can be tough, exceptionally tough.  There is a lot of adjusting.  A lot of learning to compromise and live with another human being.  Learning their quirks, and their intricacies.  We’ve been through our share of hurdles.  The stress of purchasing a house caused us to fight over things that would have typically gone unnoticed.  There was learning required, how to keep the connection with each other, and a focus on the relationship, when there are such time-consuming and life encompassing activities going on.  This delicate balance is known to most entering a marriage, but still a lesson to be learned and a skill to be advanced.

All of that said if there is one thing that this past year taught me the most, it is that I truly am blessed.  It is truly a blessing to be surrounded by friends and family who want nothing more than to see Dave and I succeed in this marriage journey.  Who will use their prayers and positive thoughts to send encouragement and accountability our way.  Mostly, I’m one of the luckiest girls in the world to be able to go to bed with, and wake up next to the one person in the world who will ALWAYS bring a smile to my face.  Who will make me laugh, even if I’m throw-the-dish mad (not that I’ve ever actually thrown a dish, I like ours too much, it’d piss me off more to break one).

Dave – I could not imagine a more perfect fit for me.  You put up with all of my crazy, and love me through it.  You are a constant reminder to me of what unconditional love really means.  I couldn’t be more thankful for you and for what you bring and add to our lives.  I love you.

Happy 1 Year Anniversary!  Here’s to many many more.  I’m so lucky I get to walk hand in hand with you through the rest of our lives.

**All photos by the extremely talented Kristin Korpos.

4 thoughts on “Chosing you from all the world to be mine…

  1. Loved this post! I feel really lucky that Dave found you. I know I told you before that I worried he would end up alone (“no worries Mom, I like my life the way it is.”). When I see the two of you together, it makes me so happy. Happy Anniversary and here’s to many, many more!

Leave a Reply

