Life is a Journey

The last four weeks of the challenge seemed to fly by.  I noticed that I was working harder, eating just as well but the weight was slower to come off.  I suppose that’s normal.  When you’re bigger like me, it’s “easy” to lose those first 5-10lbs.  (I use the term easy EXTREMELY loosely here) But after that, it requires more hard work, and more dedication.  Add to that the slower metabolism that comes with age and you have the double whammy of weight-loss efforts!

Please don’t mistake my musings for complaints.  They aren’t, they are just the facts I found to be true in my journey.  In away, I appreciate this time even more, because I know every pound I lose was earned.  It wasn’t just a by product of exterior situations…it was caused by conscious eating and steady will to strengthen my body.

There was however a lesson I learned through out the entire journey – but was able to focus on more for that final four weeks.  I have been surrounded by some absolutely wonderful people in my life.  My friends have stepped up during this journey and continued to support and encourage me.  My family has made an effort to tell me they are proud of my efforts and that they are seeing the difference.  If ever I vocalized I was ready to quit – each and every one of these people would remind me what I really wanted.  So let me take this time right now to send out a giant THANK YOU to all of the people.  Whether you are reading now or not – I hope you know how appreciated you are.

Along with the people that were already in my life, this journey brought new friends into my world.  I have found a kindred connection with the women that were part of this journey with me.  They can understand what I went through in a way no one else really can.  When I tell people about my experience, and the fact that it’s more emotional than it is physical – I can see that they don’t really get it.  And to be honest, I can’t really explain it.  I even feel with my blog posts about this journey, I didn’t do it justice.  I can’t fully explain the transformation that happened with in me.  I can barely comprehend the changes myself.  But one look at these women, and a statement of “I just feel it” and they get me.  They understand because they’ve experienced it themselves.

I feel so fortunate to be surrounded by these women weekly.  To be supported by these women daily.  I have developed relationships with the instructors at MBB that helps me to feel that much more accountable to the classes.  Makes me want to push myself that much harder to be the best me I can be.  Physically, emotionally, and spiritually.  I can genuinely say when I walk into that studio, I feel energized.  I feel strong.  I feel capable.  I feel thankful.

At the end of the challenge, I had lost a total of 14 pounds.  I had lost an inch in my chest, an inch in my waist, and grown muscle in my calves, thighs, and biceps.  I physically could SEE the differences.  But most importantly I could FEEL the differences.

20140521-204059-74459585.jpg
Day 1

20140521-204059-74459682.jpg
Day 60

I mentioned back in my very first post that this 8 week journey was just the beginning to a much longer one.  That could not be truer.  I will continue to have my ups, my downs, my cheats, my commitment.  This journey does not end here.  This journey has become the journey that is my life.

Leave a Reply

